Disgrace (2009)


Director: Steve Jacobs


Starring: John Malkovich, Jessica Haines, Eriq Ebouaney.


I am speechless. You know those movies you hate to love? This is definitely one of those. Get this, you have a twice divorced English professor who abuses his position and sleeps with a student, is exposed and fired by the school and then heads off to live with his lesbian daughter in a rural part of post-apartheid South Africa! Right there, you know it’s going to either get really creepy or boring as hell. If anyone else but John had played the lead role, this movie wouldn’t  have made it. I find Malkovich to be a creepy and fascinating craftsman, and I enjoyed how he represented his character. I have read other reviews of this movie that it had been a mistake to cast him for this role and I think nothing could be further from the truth. Anyhow, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie because, if for nothing else, it doesn’t have a resolution. Ain’t that how real life feels sometimes? Terrible stuff happens and sometimes there’s no lesson, God doesn’t come through, nobody pays for the damage and you feel like a tree that fell in a deserted forest and made no sound? The title Disgrace confused me at first but it could not have been more appropriate. Man, on that last scene, if he had thrown himself off what I thought was a steep cliff, I would have been like, ” Yah, I feel you bro.” But that’s the genius of the movie (and the book). Sometimes shit happens and being a hero may mean finding a way to look it in the eye and say, “Hey, I am still here, Fool!”
