KNOWING 2009

Director: Alex Proyas

Starring: Nicholas Cage

I just watched this. It’s brilliant! I will admit that I have had issues with Nicholas Cage’s recent choices for lead roles; National Treasure, Ghost Rider, Next. But the movie that really threw him off my taste buds was Bangkok Dangerous. I mean, really Nic? So when I saw ads for Knowing, I was so not feeling it especially because it felt a lot like Next. Have you watch it? Don’t. The title pretty much tells you what you need to do – watch the next one please! The only reason I decided to give Knowing a peek was a preview I saw on trailers.apple.com. All said, even after watching the first five minutes, I still had no expectations of being thrilled. I definitely did not think that I would watch the last 20 minutes on the edge of my seat. This flick has the best ending sequence I have watched in a long time. And Nic really brought it man! He was the Nic of Lord of War and Matchstick Men. Well, let me back up. Matchstick Men is on a whole other level – Genius Platinum. I highly recommend Knowing. I will definitely be hunting down other Alex Proyas movies. The CGI work was nowhere near great but the progression of the plot and the edge of the seat ending definitely earn this flick 4 stars. Good work.

Let me know what you think about the review and if you watch it, let me know what you think of the movie.

